For me I like to use the best ingredients, but as you would expect I need them to be G.F. so my Store Cupboard contains staple items from GF and mainstream.
More Other Stuffs... Interesting Info links:
Restaurants and Pubs (and especially modern chefs) are now usually aware about Coeliac's needs
and either have a separate menu or can adapt the standard menu to Gluten Free without fuss.
Make sure you check and recheck with the staff to ensure what is delivered is GF before you tuck in.
My Biggest Shock was finding I could no longer enjoy a Pint of Real Ale or a Guinness in the Pub.
Fortunately I can Drink Cider Phew!
Please drink responsibly! www.drinkaware.co.uk
UK Government Guidelines:
Do not regularly exceed: women 2-3 units daily, men 3-4 units daily.
US Government Warning:
1.) According to surgeon general, women should not drink alcoholic beverages during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects.
2.) Consumption of alcoholic beverages impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems.
There are many types of alcohol that you can drink when you are on a gluten free diet. But yes, you have to stay away from beers that have been manufactured using wheat or barley.
MOST beers and lagers are a complete no-no and there are also some spirit brands that you should avoid. It's possible that distillation doesn't remove 100% of the gluten (studies have been mixed on this point), or that a small amount of gluten is added back in as part of processing after distillation.
Alcohols are sometimes advertised as distilled spirits that may contain gluten. i.e. Flavoured Vodkas
In some cases, manufacturers add colouring (eg caramel which may contain gluten)
or even a small amount of the undistilled grain mash after the distilling process.
Cheaper spirits are more likely to contain this mash. Ensure you carefully read the fine print or better still get a satisfactory written response from the company, before committing yourself to drinking such distilled spirits.
Some beer products don’t use barley. They use rice, corn, and buckwheat instead. Some others use sorghum in their beer products in addition to having all the aforementioned ingredients. Other Manufacturers use propriatory methods to remove gluten from the grains. Note: Some People find this form of low gluten process to aggravate their condition. so use with caution!!! Beer product manufacturers do label their products as gluten free. And if a beer does not have a gluten free label, it is a strong indication that it is made using barley or wheat.
Gluten Removed (uses Enzyme method)
All the way from Italy, as good as a the classic Peroni and with as far as I remember the same taste. A perfect balance between sweet and bitter, with a slightly hoppy flavor and easy to drink. In 330ml bottles with alcohol content at 4.7% with a gluten content of less than 10 ppm (parts per million).
The production process for Gluten Free is the same as the traditional product: the same ingredients, malt and corn 100% Italian. Only at the end of fermentation lines take different routes. For the gluten free they add an enzyme that breaks down gluten. The beer is then subjected to two weeks of controls, even after bottling, with four stages of analysis
A top fermented ale brewed with natural spring water. tested at less than 10ppm the beer’s characteristic aroma comes from the particular de glutenised malt combined with specially selected hops which are brewed to an age old recipe. Serve at cellar temperature.
Greens also have beers ranging from crisp and light lagers or rich dark ales to wonderful hoppy beers,
making Green's one of the biggest original producers of gluten & wheat free beers
Visit their website
Wellington Bomber Porter
In 330ml bottles with alcohol content at 5% ABV, British style dark porter. A dark beer with flavours of roasted malt with a subtle chocolate finish. It is a mouth watering beer that is deliciously smooth.
It is suitable for coeliacs, is tested against the Elisa test and is approved and certified.
Estrella Damm Daura Lager still uses its original 1876 basic recipe. But unlike other gluten-free beers, which use sorghum as a substitute for wheat or grain, DAURA uses barley-malt. A proprietary brewing process strips the gluten protein from the barely malt, leaving only the “real beer” taste. The result is a gluten content level less than 6 parts per million (ppm) which is below the 20 ppm required for gluten free products.
Organic premium Czech lager
Traditionally batch brewed in the heart of the world's most famous hop region. The local noble Saaz hops provide a clean, spicy aroma, ideal to accompany quality food. Celia has a truly light feel thanks to the benefit of being gluten free and a naturally carbonated pilsner.
Gluten Free Belgian Golden Ale 330ml bottles with alcohol content at 4.8% An elegant, caramel-smooth beer with refreshing herbal notes. This is golden ale made in the traditional way with barley malt and hops, then the gluten is removed.
A traditional style British Bitter does contain de glutenised malted barley however is < 5ppm gluten and is wheat free. comes in 330ml bottles with alcohol content at 4.2%. 'Night Mission' is medium brown in colour with a hoppy "albeit slightly fizzy on the tongue" taste, which pours with a small head. This ale is in remembrance to the heroes of the RAF Pathfinder Force who lost their lives in WW2 so gets my vote.
St Peters G-Free™
A clean, crisp, gluten free ale with a pilsner lager style finish and aromas of citrus and mandarin from American Amarillo hops. Launched in August 2007 and Certified by Coeliac UK as an approved gluten free product. G-Free™ won a Bronze Medal at the International Beer Challenge 2010 and Australian International Beer Awards 2009. It was also Commended at the Free From Food Awards 2010.
Gluten Free Organic Belgian Lager in 330ml bottles or 20 litre barrels. The Barley Malt is organic and gluten poor and thanks to a special brewing process it becomes gluten free. With alcohol content at 5.2% it retains has a light and balanced flavour.
A pale ale, that just so happens to be gluten free.
Vagabond Pale Ale has citrus and tropical hop flavours with a light caramel malt base, backed up with a raucously resinous bitterness. Brewed using 100% malted barley, American hop varieties, pure Scottish water and our clean-fermenting house yeast, Vagabond is missing only one thing - Gluten.
When it comes to wine, you don’t even need to go gluten free shopping for wine products.
Most wines are gluten free. Champagne, the most popular of them all, is completely free of gluten.
Let’s say you like Italian grappa wine. You could be thinking if this is gluten free or not. Yes, it is gluten free. And joyfully so!
Moet & Chandon Nectar Imperial (Demi-Sec) Champagne.
Slightly sweet Champagne. Refered to as a Demi-Sec (Semi Dry), On the palate it is a blend of richness and elegance, extreme creaminess with vibrant citrus freshness leading to caramel flavours with lovely texture. Perfect all rounder.
Veuve Clicquot (Demi-Sec) Champagne.
Intense aromas of honey, fresh peach and brioche. A real treat!. Great for fruity desserts - or you can simply sip it on its own!
Clos des Américains vineyard in la Petite Carmargue Region of France. This Independent of the Costieres des Nimes coop have award winning wines where the terrior produces full-bodied well-balanced wines aged in oak barrels.
Link to Clos des Américains
The name Robert et Marcel Co. based at Saint-Cyr-en-Bourg in the Loire Valley, is the pseudonym for the Saumur Cooperative.
They have had a continued respectable haul of medals for their wines.
After visiting whilst on holiday in summer of 2014 I can vouch this a great place to visit, taste and buy wines of the region.
Link to Robert et Marcel Co
Percheron Chenin Blanc Viognier.
Sourced from 40 year old bush vine in South Africa's Western Cape, this Chenin Viognier is an 80% Chenin Blanc and 20% Viognier blend.
Producing a very enjoyable 13.5% ABV white wine which has a creamy with fruity flavours and honeyed palate.
Works well on its own as a party drink or with seafood and salads, also with chicken or pork cooked in creamy or fruity sauces.
Gin, rum, and tequila have a distillation process that filters out gluten.
This process is followed in the preparation of vodka too.
So it can be concluded that these types of spirits are considered free of gluten (Yay). Just Make sure you avoid budget brands as the level of distillation may not be as comprehensive.
If you love Scotch whisky, you can continue to love it. Similarly Scotch does not normally have gluten. especially double or triple distilled. Worth Checking out the manufacturer though as sometimes gluten is used in the barrel making/glueing process.
English potato vodka
Crowned Best Vodka and awarded double gold at the World San Francisco Spirits Competition. Chase is Britain's first and only potato vodka. Distilled five times in a handcrafted copper still and 70ft rectification column, being chill filtered and hand bottled all on their farm in the heart of Herefordshire.
Black Cow Gold Top is the world’s only pure milk vodka. Made entirely from the milk of grass grazed cows. A crystal clear premium vodka, supremely smooth with a delicate creamy finish. Black Cow is easily sipped at room temperature. Perfect in any long drink or cocktail.
Bombay Sapphire Gin.
10 Botanicals are infused into the gin before distillation, which contains Juniper Berries/Juniper flavouring along with various grains and botanical's, which includes a grain made out of gluten (in this case they use both wheat and rye). As with other alcoholic beverages, the gluten protein is removed during the distillation process, so in some circles it’s considered technically “gluten-free”.
Tesco, Very Special 3 Star Cognac is delicately balance with notes of vanilla and apricot, produced from the exclusive vineyards around the town of Cognac, north of Bordeaux in South-West France. It is distilled twice and then left to mature in Limousin oak casks for a minimum of 3 years. This is soft, well-balanced perfumed Cognac and ideal as an after dinner drink.
Smirnoff vodka is made from corn, which is a gluten-free grain. Since gluten could be lurking in possible “natural flavours” in some flavoured vodkas, Stick with getting plain vodka.
Bacardi White Rum.
The vast majority of rums are gluten-free.
Bacardi has confirmed that their products are – all except Bacardi Silver.
Captain Morgan is also GF if you like dark rum.
Gluten Free Crisps and Chocolate
Kettle Brand® Potato Chips (including Kettle Brand® Bakes, 40% Less Fat, Organic, and Krinkle Cut™ Potato Chips), are gluten free and processed in a gluten free environment.
The ultimate hummus shovel. Gluten free - just in case you were wondering
A whole tin to myself then.
All things Pasta, Pulses and Potato etc
This fresh Penne has three simple ingredients - maize flour, rice flour & water Dell'Ugo products are currently available in Waitrose, Wholefoods and Costco stores, and online at Ocado.
Not as good as the Dell 'Ugo pasta but ok for store cupboard and is available from Waitrose
I think these are the good and Currently available in most supermarkets.
Treat yourself occasionally - Currently available in most supermarkets.
GF Ready Meal
If you have never tried Quinoa then this could be the meal to try. At 8 WeightWatchers ProPoints® per pack
this meal is not that spicy but tastes great and natural not like a processed ready meal.
Texture is spot on, cooked in a few minutes just by adding boiling water – just like the ‘normal’ version. Alternative is available from Asda
GF Baked Beans
More colourful than the standard baked beans, Taste like baked beans but have a subtle nutty flavour with a variance in texture – A more "Sophisticated adult" version. ½ pot counts as 1 of your 5 a day.
All things Dairy
This Yoghurt is a great as Vitamin D contributes to normal absorption / utilisation of calcium.
Cal-in + is formulated especially for adults, so it contains lots of calcium to meet the recommended daily allowance. It is not intended for children under the age of 10 as they have a lower reference nutrient intake for calcium.
Yep, that’s right. You can eat blue cheese. Just make sure it is gluten-free. Under tests it has been found that the resulting blue cheeses each contained less than one part per million of gluten then it does appear safe to say that blue cheese is gluten-free..
Waitrose identify their Arrigoni's Gorgonzola and P.D.O. Piccante as quoted suitable for those avoiding gluten.
Waitrose Dolce link here
Waitrose Piccante link here
Gluten Free Cheese
This Chaource cheese is available as Tesco Finest and Sainsbury TTD, it a can be compared to Brie and Camembert, but slightly richer and starts slightly crumbly inside.
Chaource ripens from the outside in, so matures the longer you leave it, getting gooier and creamier on the inside.
A classic Italian cheese, with the fresh milky flavour. Traditionally eaten with tomatoes and basil as a `caprese' salad.
Gluten Free Breads
The Genius Triple Seeded Sandwich Bread is a gluten-free loaf baked with poppy, linseed and sunflower seeds for a tasty crunch.
You can find Genius in most supermarkets and lots of independent stores
Gluten Free Ciabatta Rolls
White Ciabatta Rolls are high in fibre, low in fat and low in saturated fat. available to most supermarkets
Gluten Free Garlic Bread
Soft and doughy gluten free and wheat free bread with melted garlic parsley butter. Simply I use it as the base for a luxury pizza. Available from Sainsbury and Waitrose.
Gluten Free Cheese Crackers
Crispy, crunchy, baked not fried and so deliciously gluten-free. Ideal if you want to eat lots and perfect with cheddar cheese.
The cheese taste is natural and leaves you dipping into the pack for more.
Crunchy Italian style breadsticks, a great pre-dinner snack pared with a dollop of houmous and a cocktail aperitif.
Available from the coop supermarket in the UK. Comes as a pack of 3 take and bake pack. produces a tasty baguettes with a crunch to the crust and a nice creamy bready interior.
Warburtons Newburn Bakehouse Gluten Free Seeded Wraps, come in a resealable pack of four. Slightly thicker than a non GF wrap and for me one of the better GF wraps
Like fresh fruits and vegetables, fresh meat and fish generally are safe on the gluten-free diet.
This includes fresh cuts of beef, pork, lamb, chicken, turkey and fish at your local grocery store or butcher.
However, you'll need to beware of meats and poultry with added ingredients that make them into ready-to-cook or ready-to-eat dishes — most of these are not safe to consume on A GF diet, since the supplier might use unsafe sauces or even bread crumbs. The information on the ingredients in these ready-to-use products is frequently lacking, so I'd advise being really careful.
GF Sausages and Meatballs
The Black Farmer is 100% Gluten Free
You can find Black Farmer in most supermarkets and some of independent stores
Black Farmer link here
Sainsbury's stock for varieties of Taste the Difference GF sausages:
Pork & Bramley Apple Sausages, Pork & Fresh Herb Sausages, Toulouse Inspired Pork Sausages.
GF Sausages 97% meat
By using fresh herbs instead of dried, processed ones, they do small-batch production instead of mass-production and work with local suppliers, backing British agriculture and ensuring a fair price is paid throughout the whole supply chain. - See more at: http://heckfood.co.uk/
Both Tesco Finest and Sainsbury have Gluten free Chorizo, great addition to rice, pasta, pizzas and casseroles
Sainsbury's is seasoned with smoked paprika, not too spicy and there is a good presence of garlic without being overpowering, generally available as picante (spicy) or dulce (sweet).
Gluten Free extras
Lea & Perrins® Worcestershire Sauce is cholesterol free, fat free, preservative free, gluten free and has 80% less sodium than soy sauce.
I have used Sainsbury and Tesco versions, perfect for adding that little bit extra to a salad or starter
Knorr Stock Pots for a rich and tasty stock.
Gluten Free Flours
Their award winning GF flour blends can be substituted in most recipes, providing a little extra liquid is added, although you should follow their special recipe instruction on pack for bread.
Rich and Smoky mix for perfect paella seasoning. Can also be used a additive to potatoes or stews.
Sweet Baby Ray Bbq Sauce Original, Squeezable, Award winning & last but not least Gluten free.
The immune systems of those with Coeliac disease mistakes gluten as dangerous and attacks it, damaging the lining of the small intestine in the process.
The effects of gluten varies amongst Coeliac from the less obvious malabsorption to much more obvious vomiting or diarrhoea
and for Dermatitis herpetiformis (DH) sufferers get a skin condition where they get a very itchy rash.
Having been "attacked" by Gluten can set a Coeliac back by up to 3 months before the gut repaires.
The treatment is simple: strip wheat from the diet. But this is trickier than you might think.
Gluten appears in so many types of food, from bread, crisps, cakes and breakfast cereals to beer. It's even used in popcorn coatings, communion wafers, gravy, soy sauce, vending machine coffee and Scotch eggs.
So eating at home is difficult at times but eating out is a minefield.......
Click on the logo to open their GF menu
Special gluten-free menu,
Really appetizing GF food range. Allow extra waiting time for pasta so they can boil a fresh pot of water for your meal.
With an entirely dedicated ‘Allergen Menu’ for special diets,
just ask for the special diets menu and you’ll be able to see exactly which dishes contain gluten, nuts, egg, fish, dairy and alcohol.
select logo and use dietary requirements radio button.also a factsheet link here
Frankie and Benny's say "Wheat and gluten ingredients which are deep fried will use the same fryers
in our kitchens as dishes not containing these ingredients -
there may be risk of cross contamination which may therefore affect extremely sensitive sufferers".
Comprehensive well thought out GF alternatives even serves Aspall Cider and Green's Gluten-Free Pilsner
If you want to keep up to date with Pizza Express’s gluten free menu and deals follow them on Facebook and Twitter.
Click on the logo to open their GF menu
Nandos have a online menu with web filter by dietary requirements which includes Coeliac.
Plus a‘Food & Menu Specification's book that you can request to look at when in the restaurant.
Build your own menu choosing the Radio button "No gluten containing ingredients"
Allergen Info link here
Harvester say "Allergen Information: All our food is prepared in a kitchen where nuts, cereals containing gluten and other allergens are present and our menu
descriptions do not include all ingredients - if you have a food allergy, please let us know before ordering. Full allergen information is available".
Not easy to work out so doesn't inspire me to eat there.
Brewers Fayre Allergy and Nutrition pdf use the Gluten column to identify if gluten is present
As with Harvester; Not easy to work out so doesn't inspire me to eat there.
Greene king use a similar disclaimer as Harvester
latest menu link here
Chef & Brewer Say "All allergy and intolerance information stated is for actual ingredients present in products, whilst we take the issue of food allergies and intolerances seriously all dishes are produced and prepared in environments that are not free from gluten, milk, egg, fish, nuts, sesame seeds or soya, therefore all dishes may contain traces of these and other allergens.
If you suffer from sensitive trace reactions for stated allergens, please be aware that we are unable to guarantee suitability for you.